Fire Danger Ratings have now become much simpler as NSW adopts the new Australian Fire Danger Rating System.

Member for Tweed Geoff Provest MP said the NSW Rural Fire Service (RFS) has played a leading role in the development of the new national system.

“The RFS has used the latest science as well as extensive community research to make fire danger ratings more simple, accurate and relevant to where you live,” Mr Provest said.

“The new fire danger rating system will be used consistently across all states and territories, so whether you’re at home here in Tweed or travelling in other parts of Australia, you will see the same system being used.”

The new Fire Danger Rating System has four levels, instead of the previous six:

  1. Moderate;
  2. High;
  3. Extreme; and
  4. Catastrophic.

On days when there is minimal risk, such as when it is raining, Fire Danger Rating signs will be set to No Rating.

There will also be clear actions to take at each level:

  1. At Moderate, Plan and prepare;
  2. At High, Be ready to act;
  3. At Extreme, Take action now to protect your life and property; and
  4. At Catastrophic, For your survival leave bush fire risk areas.

Minister for Emergency Service and Resilience and Minister for Flood Recovery Steph Cooke said the new Fire Danger Ratings will be displayed on the RFS website, the Fires Near Me app and on updated road-side signs across NSW.

“I’m really proud that the RFS is delivering the new Fire Danger Rating System for communities State-wide and also nation-wide, in partnership with the Bureau of Meteorology and the Australasian Fire and Emergency Service Authorities Council,” Ms Cooke said.

Residents in Tweed can find out more at: