Volunteers from the Byron Tweed and Richmond Valley clusters of the NSW State Emergency Service (SES) have been recognised at an awards ceremony in Tweed Heads on Saturday, 19th November.

Member for Tweed Geoff Provest said awards were presented to 48 volunteers who have collectively contributed 215 years of service to the SES.

“After a devastating few years of natural disasters, it brings me great pleasure to acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding work NSW SES volunteers undertake in our region,” Mr Provest said.

“The SES Units represented at this special ceremony include Mullumbimby, Murwillumbah, Tweed Coast, Tweed Heads, Casino, Kyogle, Tabulum and Urbenville.

“Their tireless efforts do not go unnoticed, and these awards are a small way we can say thank you.”

SES Commissioner Carlene York praised the volunteers for their ongoing contributions.

“The past 12 months has been incredibly busy for the SES, with significant flooding and a third La Nina season,” Commissioner York said.

“I’m proud to recognise the dedication of our members and their invaluable commitment to communities across the State.

“Volunteers from the clusters have responded to almost 3000 requests for assistance over the past 12 months.”

Debbie Castledine, Brian Hoffman, Paul Arber and Roy Clark were awarded National Emergency Medals for their service during Cyclone Debbie in 2017.

The National Medal, which recognises long and diligent service of at least 15 years, was presented to Rebecca Want, Sanders Hetherington, Inspector Kris McDonald, Lachlan Campbell and Kenneth Sanderson. The National Medal Clasp 2, for additional 10-year periods, was also awarded to Christopher Olive.

Additionally, a number of members received a Commissioner’s Unit Citation for their professionalism during Cyclone Debbie 2017 as well as the successful Macleay River flood rescue on 20 March 2021.

The SES Long Service awards were presented to volunteers with service ranging between five and 35 years.